Basics of Indiana Drunk Driving Laws

Modern vehicles have been built to be safer, fuel-efficient, and more comfortable. However, driving on public roads is still risky for a variety of reasons. For starters, there are irresponsible drivers, fatigued drivers, and drunk drivers. This means that even responsible drivers are not safe when they drive on public roads.

To ensure you are always safe when driving, you should never drink and drive. Drunk driving can put you and your passengers at risk of getting into a crash. In addition to that, you may be arrested and charged with a DWI in Indiana if you are found to be driving while intoxicated. Read on to learn about the basics of Indiana drunk driving laws.

Alcohol Limits (BAC Limits)

DWI charges can be imposed on any driver who is found to be driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or above. This is deemed as the maximum blood alcohol limit, above which, the driver cannot think properly or drive a car safely. If you are under twenty-one years old, you can be charged with a DWI even if you have a BAC that is below 0.08 percent. This is due to the fact that the state of Indiana has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking. Underage drivers can be charged with a DWI if they have a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher.

It is important to note that you can be charged with DWI in Indiana even if you have not taken any alcohol. If the arresting officer has reason to suspect you have been smoking marijuana, or you seem to be intoxicated with any other type of drug, you can still be charged with a DWI, as well as any other drug offense the officer my deem appropriate.

DWI Penalties in Indiana

If you have been charged with DWI in Indiana, you should look for a Terre Haute drunk driving lawyer to defend you against the charges, because getting convicted can have far-reaching consequences. For starters, you may lose your license for several months or even years if found guilty. You will also be fined a lot of money if convicted and you will likely have to install a costly IID in your car.

In case of a felony DWI, you may find yourself behind bars for several years. You can be charged with a felony DWI if you have previously been convicted of at least three DWI charges or if you caused an accident as a result of your drunk driving. You may also be charged with a felony DWI if you were driving with a minor in the vehicle while intoxicated.

Share Button